The Government

The Government of Sweden (Regeringen) governs the country. The Government consists of several ministers and works from the Government Offices (Regeringskansliet) under leadership of, the Prime Minister (Statsministern).


A minister in the Government can be the head of a ministry (departement). There are a total of eleven ministries, which work with various issues. The Ministry of Education, for example, is responsible for schools and education. Several ministers can work in the same ministry, but only one of them is considered the head of that ministry.

How the Government works

The Government proposes new laws in Government bills (propositioner). The members of the Parliament then vote on these proposals, approving or disapproving the government bills.

If a majority of the members vote yes to a government bill, the Government authorises the government agencies to make sure use the new law.

The Government, in turn, is responsible to the Parliament.

In its annual budget, the Government shows how it wishes to use state funds that pay for schools, healthcare, roads, the armed forces, the courts, the police, housing, etc. The Government submits its proposed budget to the Parliament, which then decides whether or not to approve it.

State agencies

Agencies such as the National Police Board (Rikspolisstyrelsen), the Swedish Transport Administration (Transportverket) and the National Agency for Education (Skolverket) are tasked with ensuring that the proposals of the Government are realised.

Every year, the Government writes an appropriations letter (regleringsbrev) to each agency, explaining how that agency should work, and how much money may be used during the year.

Publicerad: 2012-07-02